Hydra PMH

More is more…

We designed and built this hydra at Peter’s special request. Peter got to know us and our Hydra model at the Guitar Summit and was immediately impressed by the design, handling and workmanship. Some time later we met in our workshop in Kaiserslautern and he had some ideas how his dream guitar should be made… Almost a year later, the result can be seen and heard, I would say!
Peter had come up with a nifty wiring that was certainly the greatest challenge in building: It should be two humbuckers, a Sustainiac, a Graphtech Ghost Piezo System in a Floyd Rose Vibrato and two separate outputs, each for the piezo and the magnetic signal. The Sustainiac is mounted right next to the Seymour Duncan Neck Pickup, so we had the opportunity to combine it with any single coil sized pickup. The two humbuckers are interconnected with a 5-way switch. The 3 push-push potentiometers are milled underneath and therefore always flush with the top. They control the magnetic volume (with integrated kill switch), the piezo volume (integrated piezo on / off) and the intensity of the sustainiac (integrated sutainiac on / off). The two mini switches control the piezo mix mode and the 3 modes of the Sustainiac. Too much information ..? Now you know how I felt when soldering ­čśë
The look is almost classic: an oiled and waxed quilted maple neck with matching bookmatched (!) Fingerboard and 22 mixed stainless steel frets and a premium quilted maple top on a one-piece mahogany body. We finished the top in a transparent “Suzuka Grey” – matching Peter’s car color of course!

 

Category:

Description

Specs

Body: Mahogany
Neck: Quilted Maple
Fretboard: Quilted bookmatched maple, 25ÔÇ│ (635mm) Scale, 15 Jumbo + 7 Medium stainless steel frets
Pickups: Neck: Seymour Duncan SHR1, Bridge: Seymour Duncan SH6 BTB
Electronic:
– Graphtech Ghost FR Piezo System
– 2x Output for Magnet and Piezo
– Sustainiac SC next to Neck Pickup
– 5-way Switch
– Other Controls as mentioned above
Hardware: Gold; Schaller Locking Tuners; Graphtech FR System
Construction: Bolt-On
Finish: Body Highgloss, Top Suzuka Grey, Neck oiled and waxed, fretboard NC satin

Menu

Hydra PMH

More is more…

Diese Hydra haben wir auf speziellen Wunsch von Peter konzipiert und gebaut. Peter hat uns und und unser Hydra Modell auf dem Guitar Summit kennengelernt und war sofort von dem Design, dem Handling und der Verarbeitung begeistert. Einige Zeit später trafen wir uns dann in unserer Werkstatt in Kaiserslautern und er hatte einige Ideen im Gepäck wie seine Traumgitarre beschaffen sein sollte.. Ein knappes Jahr später kann sich das Ergebnis bestens sehen und hören lassen würde ich meinen!
Peter hatte sich eine raffinierte Schaltung überlegt, die sicherlich die größte Herausforderung beim Bauen war: Es sollten zwei Humbucker sein, ein Sustainiac, ein Graphtech Ghost Piezo System im Floyd Rose Vibrato und zwei getrennte Ausgänge, jeweils für das Piezo und das Magnetische Signal. Der Sustainiac ist direkt neben dem Seymour Duncan Neck Pickup montiert, dadurch hatten wir die Möglichkeit ihn mit jedem Pickup im Singlecoil-Format zu kombinieren. Verschaltet werden die beiden Humbucker mit einem 5-weg Schalter. Die 3 Push-Push Potis sind unterfräst und dadurch immer bündig zur Decke. Sie regeln die magnetische Lautstärke (mit integriertem Killswitch), die Piezo Lautstärke (Piezo on/off integriert) und die Intensität des Sustainiac (Sutainiac on/off integriert). Die beiden Miniswitches schalten den Piezo – Mix Mode und die 3 Modi des Sustainiacs. Too much Information..? Jetzt wisst ihr wie es mir beim Löten ging 😉
Die Optik ist dann fast schon klassisch: ein geölter und gewachster Quilted Maple Hals mit passendem bookmatched(!) Griffbrett und 22 mixed Edelstahl Bünden und eine Premium Quilted Maple Decke auf einem einteiligen Mahagonie Body. Die Decke haben wir in einem transparenten „Suzuka Grey“ lackiert – natürlich passend zu Peters Wagenfarbe!

 

Kategorie:

Beschreibung

Specs

Body: Mahogany
Neck: Quilted Maple
Fretboard: Quilted bookmatched maple, 25″ (635mm) Scale, 15 Jumbo + 7 Medium stainless steel frets
Pickups: Neck: Seymour Duncan SHR1, Bridge: Seymour Duncan SH6 BTB
Electronic:
– Graphtech Ghost FR Piezo System
– 2x Output for Magnet and Piezo
– Sustainiac SC next to Neck Pickup
– 5-way Switch
– Other Controls as mentioned above
Hardware: Gold; Schaller Locking Tuners; Graphtech FR System
Construction: Bolt-On
Finish: Body Highgloss, Top Suzuka Grey, Neck oiled and waxed, fretboard NC satin

Menü